Published Monday, May 1, 2023

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (May 1, 2023) The National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) today announced the appointment of two new members to its Board of Directors effective immediately. Glen Mulready, the Insurance Commissioner for the State of Oklahoma, joins the Board, along with Andrew J. Beal, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Acting Chief Executive Officer (CEO). Mr. Beal succeeds Michael Consedine, who recently resigned after serving as the NAIC CEO since 2017.

"We are excited to welcome both Comm. Mulready and Mr. Beal to the Board of Directors. Their extensive insurance experience and valuable perspectives will help guide our strategy as we continue our mission to streamline and simplify the producer compliance and licensing process," said NIPR CEO Karen Stakem Hornig. “On behalf of the entire NIPR team, I thank Mike for his support and leadership over the past six years and wish him well in his next chapter.”

Mulready serves as Oklahoma’s 13th insurance commissioner and was first elected to the statewide position in 2019. Commissioner Mulready started his insurance career as a broker in 1984 and later served in executive roles for Oklahoma’s two largest health insurance companies. In 2010, Mulready entered public service and was elected to represent West Tulsa, Jenks, and Glenpool in the Oklahoma House of Representatives.

Beal is the Acting CEO, Chief Operating Officer, and Chief Legal Officer for the NAIC. He joined the NAIC in 1999. Mr. Beal served as General Counsel from 2000 until July 2006, when he was promoted to the position of Deputy Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer. He was appointed Chief Operating Officer and Chief Legal Officer in February 2009.

About NIPR

NIPR is a not-for-profit technology company with the goal of streamlining the producer licensing process. Governed by a Board of Directors representing state insurance regulators and members of the insurance industry, NIPR is an affiliate of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. To learn more, visit