State Requirements

North Carolina / Resident Renewal / Individual

Search Again Apply Now
  • Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

  • All fees are charged per application.

  • Additional Fee of $38 every other renewal period (Even years)  for the following license classes:
    • Professional Bail Bondsman
    • Surety Bail Bondsman
    • Bail Bond Runner 

Company / Independent Adjuster

  • Renewal Fee: $109.00

Hail Adjuster

  • Renewal Fee: $54.00

Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser

  • Renewal Fee: $109.00

Public Adjuster

  • Renewal Fee: $109.00
  • Late Renewal Fee: $184.00

Self-Employed Insurance Adjuster

  • Renewal Fee: $109.00

Surplus Lines

  • Renewal Fee: $84.00

Viatical Settlement Broker

  • Renewal Fee: $534.00

Professional Bail Bondsman

  • Renewal Fee: $200.00
  • Application Fee: $76.00
  • Fee Disclaimers: Fingerprint Fee: $38 fee applies every other renewal period.

Surety Bail Bondsman

  • Renewal Fee: $200.00
  • Application Fee: $76.00
  • Fee Disclaimers: Fingerprint Fee: $38 fee applies every other renewal period.

Bail Bond Runner

  • Renewal Fee: $120.00
  • Application Fee: $76.00
  • Fee Disclaimers: Fingerprint Fee: $38 fee applies every other renewal period.
  • Please note that license class names can vary by state.
  • Applications for Other lines of authority will defer to state for approval.
Adjuster

Company/Independent Firm Adjuster

  • Company/Independent Firm Adjuster

Hail Adjuster

  • Hail Adjuster

Public Adjuster

  • Public Adjuster

Self-Employed Insurance Adjuster

  • Self-Employed Insurance Adjuster
OTHER

Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser

  • Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser

Surplus Lines

  • Surplus Lines

Viatical Settlement Broker

  • Viatical Settlement Broker

Professional Bail Bondsman

  • No Line of Authority Required

Surety Bail Bondsman

  • No Line of Authority Required

Bail Bond Runner

  • No Line of Authority Required

Applicant Can

  • Submit renewals for individuals electronically.
  • Submit renewals for Surplus Lines for individuals.
  • Late renew through NIPR's Resident License Renewal (RLR) Application.
  • Print licenses electronically.

Applicant Cannot

  • Submit renewals for major lines of authority.
  • Submit renewals for limited lines of authority.
  • Submit partial renewals.

Business Rules

  • Applicant must provide a valid business email.

  • The expiration date for Self-Employed Insurance Adjuster, Company/Independent Firm Adjuster, and Public Adjuster refers to the date when these license types renew their licenses - March 31st every year or on August 31st every year for Surplus lines.  The CE date is listed in the Continuing Education Information section for resident adjusters and those adjusters using NC as their DHS.
  • North Carolina is no longer issuing Broker licenses as of July 7, 2022 per North Carolina statute SB 496.  If you have any question, please contact Agent Services Division at (919) 807-6800 or ASD@ncdoi.gov .

  • Surplus Line applicants must have an active Insurance Producer license with the Property line of authority (LOA) prior to renewing Surplus Line
     
  • Professional Bail Bondsman, Surety Bail Bondsman, Bail Bond Runner applicants please visit the following link for  Additional Renewal Requirements. Please upload the required documents listed in the link. Bail Bond applicants are required to submit the following affidavit to the NIPR Attachment Warehouse. These documents are only required every other renewal period. Next renewal period requiring these documents are 2024. 
     
  • Applications that are pended by the state for additional information or requirements will be declined by the state if no response is received from the applicant within thirty (30) days of the state's request. Other supporting documentation not related to background questions may be faxed to the state.
     
  • If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.
  • Insurance Producer licenses with the following lines of authority (LOAS) are perpetual (does not expire) and are not required to submit renewal requests. Producers must complete their Continuing Education requirement to maintain their license.
    • Life
    • Accident & Health or Sickness
    • Property
    • Casualty
    • Personal lines
    • Variable Life & Variable Annuity Products
    • Medicare Supplement / Long Term Care

All License Classes except Bondsman Licenses

Renewal Period: Sixty (60) days prior to expiration date.

Late Renewal Period: Up to Sixty (60) days after expiration dates.

 

Professional Bail Bondsman, Surety Bail Bondsman, Bail Bond Runner

Renewal Period: April 1st of even years.

Renewal Period End: June 30th

  • NIPR verifies compliance with the states CE requirement prior to allowing submission of a renewal application. You may select your resident state on the following link: Verify My CE to view your CE transcript and determine whether the state has updated your status to compliant in their system and on what date.  It generally takes up to 72 hours from the compliance date for the status to be updated in our system.
  • Those who do not meet their Continuing Education requirements by the due date will be expired. If they complete the CE within 4 months, they may contact the North Carolina Department of Insurance and pay a $75 fee to reinstate their license. If the missing CE is not completed within 4 months, they must restart the licensing process.

 

Company/Independent Firm Adjuster / Company/Independent Firm Adjuster

Hail Adjuster

Public Adjuster

Self-Employed Insurance Adjuster

Contact Information

Mailing Address

North Carolina Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 14209
Raleigh, NC 27620
United States

Frequently Asked Questions

Online printing information can be found by going to NIPR's license print page and selecting the state..

NCDOI will honor a test score for up to one year after the exam.

Candidates required to complete Pre-licensing Education must pass their examination(s) within 90 days of the education completion date OR within 5 examination attempts over the 90 day period, whichever comes first

 

Send written notification to Agent Services Division, 1204 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1204. The notification must include the previous and new name, social security number and the licensee's signature. Attach a copy of the marriage certificate, divorce decree, or other legal document showing the reason for the name change. The written notice may also be sent by email or by fax to 888-959-3010.

Send written notification on letterhead to Agent Services Division, 1204 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1204. The notification must include the name and NPN or SSN of the new officer/owner and instructions regarding the old officer/owner. If the new owner is a business entity, provide the FEIN. The written notice may also be faxed to 888-959-3010 or sent via email as an attachment.

Return the license(s) with a written request to cancel them. Be sure the request is signed. If you are unable to find your license(s), submit a statement requesting license cancellation. The statement must be signed and must indicate which licenses you wish canceled. Indicate your name and complete social security number. Agent Services Division accepts third-party license cancellations for company-sponsored licenses only.

Pearson VUE 1- 800-274-0668

Send written notification to Agent Services Division, 1204 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1204. The notification must include the previous and new name and tax identification number. IF THE NAME CHANGE ALSO INVOLVES A CHANGE OF TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER, THEN THE BUSINESS ENTITY MUST REAPPLY FOR LICENSURE USING THE NC-CP APPLICATION, FEE, AND ATTACH THE REQUIRED CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY FROM THE NC SECRETARY OF STATE SHOWING THE NEW NAME. The written notice may also be sent by email or by fax to 888-959-3010.

NC does not do affiliations. For changes of DRLP, send written notification on letterhead to Agent Services Division, 1204 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1204. The notification must include the name and NPN of the new DRLP and instructions regarding the old DRLP (delete or leave). The written notice may also be sent via email as an attachment or by fax to 888-959-3010.