Alabama / Non-Resident Adjuster Licensing / IndividualSearch Again Apply Now
- Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.
- Per application.
- Additional Fees
- Address Violation Fee - $50.00
- Fee: $110.00
- Amendment Fee: $110.00
- Please note that license class names can vary by state.
- Applications for Other lines of authority will defer to state for approval.
- Property & Casualty (excluding Workers' Compensation and Crop)
- Property & Casualty (including Workers' Compensation and Crop)
- Workers' Compensation
- Submit adjuster for individuals electronically.
- Submit Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) electronically.
- Reinstate a license electronically.
- Add lines of authority to an existing active license electronically.
- Submit adjuster for business entities electronically.
- Applicant must be eighteen (18) years old or older as determined from the applicant's date of birth.
Public Adjusters are not licensed or regulated by the Alabama Department of Insurance. The Alabama State Bar takes the position that negotiating (or adjusting) claims on behalf of an insured directly with the insurer constitutes the practice of law.
Applicants who actively hold a Property and Casualty (including Workers' Compensation and Crop) Lines of Authority cannot apply for the separate Property and Casualty (excluding Workers' Compensation and Crop), Workers' Compensation or Crop Line of Authority.
Applicants who actively hold any of the separate Lines of Authority: Property and Casualty (excluding Workers' Compensation and Crop), Workers' Compensation or Crop cannot apply for Property and Casualty (including Workers' Compensation and Crop) LOA.
As of September 9, 2014, residents from California, Hawaii and New York applying for a non-resident independent adjuster license must take an Alabama exam based upon their respective states requiring our residents to take an exam under NAIC reciprocity.
Effective January 1, 2015, any non-resident individual choosing Alabama as their designated home state for the independent adjuster license must take and pass the appropriate Alabama adjuster exam and complete the fingerprinting requirements. Approved prelicensing providers can be found on the Alabama website. Highlight Adjuster to choose a provider that offers the adjuster courses.
Adjuster applicants with a residence address in the state of CA, HI, or NY are not allowed to submit a Non-Resident Adjuster Designated Home State license application. Please submit a Non-Resident Adjuster No Home State application through NIPR.
- Alabama Citizenship Law
- Under Alabama Act no. 2011-535, an alien who is not lawfully present in the United States and who is not defined as an alien eligible for public benefits under 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a) or 8 U.S.C. § 1641 shall not receive any state or local public benefits, including a professional or commercial license provided by an agency of state government.
- Any person who knowingly makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in a declaration of United States citizenship commits perjury in the second degree, a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a definite term of imprisonment in the county jail or to hard labor for the county of not more than one year and a definite fine not exceeding $6,000. Alabama Act no. 2011-535, § 7(h).
- Eligibility will be verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements program operated within the United States Department of Homeland Security.
Beginning on December 15, 2015, Proof of U.S. Citizenship is required for all applicants and licensees. Proof may be submitted using this link: https://aldoi.gov/LicenseeCZ/Initial.aspx. Proof is required in accordance with the Beason-Hammon Taxpayer and Citizen Protection Act. Citizenship verification is required of ALL APPLICANTS. There are sixteen different identifiers, including your official driver's license, any one of which can be used as proof. Your license will not be renewed or issued until this documentation is received. If information is not received within 10 days your application will be rejected. Please note: fees paid are non-refundable.
If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.
- Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) Rules:
- In order for an applicant to designate a home state during the application process, the applicant must have an active non-resident adjuster license on the Producer Database (PDB) and no active resident adjuster license.
- If designated home state license is inactive at the time of renewal and no active resident adjuster license exists, applicant may select another state with an active adjuster license as the designated home state. Application will defer to state for review.
- If applicant holds only a non-resident adjuster license in a state that licenses resident adjusters, applicant is permitted to designate an active non-resident adjuster license as their home state license. Application will defer to state for review.
- If applicant holds only an active non-resident adjuster license in a state that offers adjuster licensing, applicant must use current resident license to renew non-resident adjuster license. Application will defer to state for review.
- If applicant has an active non-resident adjuster license in a state that does not license adjusters, and no active non-resident adjuster license, applicant must use current active resident license to renew non-resident adjuster license. Application will defer to state for review.
Please note: Alabama requires notification of address or email address change within 30 days of address change or an address violation fee will be assessed. If you hold an active license in Alabama you must use the Contact Change Request application by visiting the CCR Announcements. If your license is inactive on the Producer Database you must contact Alabama directly to make an address change. Updating an address within an initial or renewal license application will not update in the Alabama system.
Contact InformationMailing Address
Alabama Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 303351
Montgomery, AL 36130-3351
- Please fax supporting documentation to Producer Licensing at 334-240-3282.
- To obtain contact information for Alabama please visit: https://www.aldoi.gov/ContactUs.aspx
Frequently Asked Questions
Online printing information can be found by going to NIPR's license print page and selecting the state.
- Producer Licensing Division
- Or under Producers/Agents on home page of website for specifics
- Notice of Address Change
- Or online through www.nipr.com - Contact Change Request
- The University of Alabama - Phone: 205-348-3000
- Register and Pay Online
- Fax changes to: 334-240-3282