State Requirements

West Virginia / Non-Resident Renewal / Individual

Search Again Apply Now
  • Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.
  • Per application.
  • Late renewal penalty fee does not apply until the 8th day past expiration date (license stays active during 7 days past expiration).

Insurance Producer

  • Fee: $50.00
  • Late Renewal Fee: $100.00

Surplus Lines

  • Fee: $200.00
  • Late Renewal Fee: $300.00

Viatical Settlement Broker

  • Fee: $100.00
  • Late Renewal Fee: $150.00
  • Please note that license class names can vary by state.
PRODUCER

Insurance Producer

  • Life
  • Accident & Health or Sickness
  • Variable Life and Variable Annuity
  • Property
  • Casualty
  • Personal Lines
  • Crop Insurance
  • Credit
  • Car Rental
  • Travel
  • Title
  • Surety
  • Self Storage
  • Limited Lines – Other
BROKER

Viatical Settlement Broker

  • No Line of Authority Required
OTHER

Surplus Lines

  • No Line of Authority Required

Applicant Can

  • Submit renewals for individuals electronically.
  • Submit renewals for major lines of authority.
  • Submit renewals for limited lines of authority.
  • Submit renewals for surplus lines for individuals.
  • Late renew through NIPR's Non-Resident Renewal Application.
  • Print License electronically.

Applicant Cannot

  • Submit Partial renewals

Business Rules

 

  • If applicant's license has lapsed, the license may be late renewed through through the Non-Resident Renewal (NRR) Application up to one (1) year after license expiration date. After one (1) year, or if license is inactive with any other status reason for any length of time, applicants must apply as a new applicant through the Non-Resident License (NRL) Application.

  • Applicant must not have an inactive West Virginia license with status reason of suspended.

  • Applicant must renew all active renewable lines. Partial renewals are not allowed.

  • If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.

  • Applicants applying for the Self Storage line of authority must submit a supervising entity (a supervising entity is business entity that is a licensed insurance producer (this is rare) or an insurer (common) to West Virginia. The required form is located at WV Self-Storage/Supervising Entity Form. Please email this form to oicagentlicensing@wv.gov . If further assistance is needed, please contact the WVOIC's Agent Licensing Division at (304) 558-0610.

Insurance Producer

Renewal Period Begins: Ninety (90) days prior to expiration date.

Renewal Period Ends: Last day of Birth Month Biennially

Late Renewal Period: Up to one year after license expiration date.

Surplus Lines

Renewal Period Begins: Ninety (90) days prior to expiration date.

Renewal Period Ends: May 31st Annually.

Late Renewal Period: Up to one year after license expiration date.

Contact Information

Mailing Address

Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
Agents Licensing & Education
P.O. Box 50541
Charleston, WV 25305-0541
United States

Frequently Asked Questions

Pearson Vue 1-(800)-274-2614
West Virginia Insurance

  • One Year

  • Every business entity must notify the department in writing of any change in their O/P/O/D - Owners, Officers, Partners, Directors. There is no form or fee to make changes. The notice should be in writing and should contain the business entity name and FEIN and the reported changes. The notice can be faxed, mailed or emailed to the Department.
  • OICagentlicensing@wv.gov

Fingerprinting is required of all new resident producers, producers amending their license adding a major line and any new resident licensees relocating from another state.  To learn more about the fingerprinting requirement, please visit:
Fingerprint FAQs

When relocating from another state to West Virginia, a letter of clearance (if state provides) is required. When relocating to another state from West Virginia, it is suggested the individual contact the state to see if a letter of clearance is required or if cancelling the license with WV is sufficient.

To print this documentation. This documentation will serve in lieu of a letter of clearance or letter of certification.

  • To print off the letter of clearance or certification in SBS solar, please use the following steps:
    •  Please visit or click https://www.wvinsurance.gov/Divisions/Licensing
    •  On the right-hand side, under the links section, please click on licensee lookup.
    •  The license manager screen will appear. Please enter jurisdiction as West Virginia and other required information for the customer.
    •  This page may be printed and will serve in lieu of a letter of clearance or certification.
  • Please note, state licensing departments are also encouraged to check the producer database (PDB) for updated licensing status in West Virginia.