State Requirements

Massachusetts / Resident Renewal / Individual

Search Again Apply Now
  • Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.
  • All fees are per application.
  • Fee is waived for veterans or the legally blind. 
  • Additional Fee: Producer applicants applying for casualty, property, and/or personal lines LOAs are charged an additional $75 lead paint surcharge fee.

Producer

  • Renewal Fee: $225.00
  • Reinstatement Fee: $450.00

Surplus Lines Broker

  • Renewal Fee: $150.00
  • Please note that license class names can vary by state.
PRODUCER

Producer

  • Life
  • Accident & Health or Sickness
  • Property
  • Casualty
  • Variable Annuity & Variable Life Product
  • Personal Line
  • Credit
  • Travel, Accident & Baggage
BROKER

Surplus Lines Broker

  • Property & Casualty

Applicant Can

  • Submit renewals for individuals electronically.
  • Submit renewals for surplus lines for individuals.
  • Reinstate through NIPR's Resident License Renewal Application.
  • Submit partial renewals allowed.

Applicant Cannot

  • Print Licenses Electronically.

Business Rules

  • Massachusetts does not offer online license printing. Licensees must contact the state.

  • If applicant answers yes to "Are you legally blind?” Applicant must submit supporting documentation to the state.

  • Producer only: If applicant answers yes to “Are you a Massachusetts resident military veteran?” Applicant must submit supporting documentation (DD-214) to the state.

  • Producer applicants may not reinstate if license is active but current date is past expiration date. Applicant must wait for the producer database to be updated before submitting a reinstatement.

  • Producer Applicants may apply for reinstatement through Resident License Renewal Application starting the day after the expiration date and up to one (1) year past the expiration date. Reinstatement applications will include a penalty fee. After the year has expired, the applicant must apply as a new applicant through NIPR's Resident License Application.

  • Surplus lines broker applicants must reapply through the Resident License application immediately after license expiration.

  • Applicant must currently hold and be renewing life if they are renewing variable.

  • Applicant must currently hold an active producer license with property and casualty lines of authority in order to renew surplus lines broker license.

  • Applicant must not have an active non-resident license in the state.

  • Applicant must provide a valid business phone number.

  • All phone and fax numbers entered on application, including submitter information, must follow these rules:
    • No lengths greater than ten (10) characters.
    • Numeric values only.
  • If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax. All other required documentation must be forwarded directly to the state.

  • Note: Producer individuals renew triennially based on date of birth. Surplus lines individuals renew annually based on original date of licensure.

Producer

Renewal Period: Sixty (60) days prior to expiration date - expiration date of license

Reinstatement Period: Begins the day after expiration date up to one (1) year.

Surplus Lines Broker

Renewal Period: Sixty (60) days prior to expiration date - expiration date of license

Reinstatement Period: N/A

  • NIPR verifies compliance with the states CE requirement prior to allowing submission of a renewal application. You may select your resident state on the following link: Verify My CE to view your CE transcript and determine whether the state has updated your status to compliant in their system and on what date.  It generally takes up to 72 hours from the compliance date for the status to be updated in our system.
  • The NIPR does not maintain or process course completion data.  Access to the renewal application is granted once the state electronically notifies the NIPR that you are CE compliant.  We are unable to override the status.  You may select your resident state name from the map on the following link: /map_continuing_education_requirements.htm  to view your CE transcript and determine whether the state has updated your status to compliant in their system and on what date.  It generally takes up to 72 hours from the compliance date for the status to be updated in our system.

Producer

  • Life
  • Accident & Health or Sickness
  • Variable Annuity & Variable Life Product
  • Property
  • Casualty
  • Personal Line

Contact Information

Mailing Address

Massachusetts Division of Insurance
1000 Washington Street, Suite 810
Boston, MA 02118-6200
United States

Frequently Asked Questions

Massachusetts does not offer online license printing. Please follow the link to the state website.

A licensee must place their termination letter in writing to the Division of Insurance, Producer Licensing Department’s attention.  In the letter, they must stipulate what they would like to have happen to their licenses.  We prefer that their licenses are also included with the letters.

One year

Send this information in writing to the attention of Duncan Kayondo, Corporate Licensing Administrator. Duncan's email address is Duncan.k.kayondo@mass.gov

It depends whether one is moving into the state or whether one is moving out of state. A licensee would have to notify the Division of Insurance’s Producer Licensing Department in writing or may call the Department for further instructions at (617- 521-7794 and opt for line #3). 

  • If one is moving into MA, he/she has 90 days to make the changes without having to take the MA exams, of course they would have to terminate their old resident license first.  MA verifies prior licensure via PDB.  
  • If one is moving out of MA, we would need that info in writing and the license would be terminated, as the licensee has now moved out of state.  If the licensee becomes licensed in new state and wants to remain licensed as a non-resident in MA; he/she must notify the Producer Licensing Dept as soon as they hold a new resident license in his/her new resident state.   If there was time left on their MA license which now has a status of moved from state; MA will reactivate license and change to non-resident license.

N/A

Prometric:
or call 800-741-9380

Individual legal name changes should be sent to the Producer Update Mailbox with the legal change documents attached at: producerupdate.mailbox@mass.gov

Business Entities will need to send their changes to the corporate licensing administrator, Duncan Kayondo, along with their resident state new Certificate of Existence, the unexecuted MA Secretary of State’s corporate division’s amendment document based upon type of business. Email: Duncan.k.kayondo@mass.gov