SOUTH CAROLINA Non-Resident Licensing No Home State for Individuals

APPLY HERE

State Announcements

There are no announcements for South Carolina at this time.

Primary Rules (Individual)

Response

Question

Yes

Accepts initial license for individuals electronically.

No

Accepts major lines of authority.

No

Accepts limited lines of authority.

Yes

Applicant can add lines of authority (amend) to an existing active license.

Yes

Applicant can reinstate through NIPR's No Home State License Application.

Yes

License printing available electronically.

Yes

Applicant must currently hold or be applying for life if they are applying for variable.

License Printing

To print your license, click the state on NIPR's Producer Licensing Map.

Business Rules (Individual)

Residence Address must not be P.O. Box.

Applicant must not have an active resident state license on PDB in any state.

All non-citizen applicants must provide a copy of green card or work authorization or resident card to work in the U.S. Please email proof to: agentmail@doi.sc.gov
Applicant is exempt from license exam if applying within 90 days of cancellation of their former resident state's license.

Applicant with a license in inactive status and no longer eligible for late renewal, applicant may reapply for their license at normal license fee.

Adjusters and Public Insurance Adjuster applicants are required to submit South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) report. Please visit https://sc-doi.civicplus.com/424/SLED-Report for more information on SLED requirements.

Applicant must provide either residence or business address that is not in the state of South Carolina.

Adjuster - In order for an applicant to apply or reinstate through the No Home State initial application Adjuster the applicant MUST NOT have an active resident adjuster (non public adjuster) license on PDB (in any state).  Note:  Public Adjusters will be treated as Producers.

Adjuster - In order for an applicant to apply or reinstate through the No Home State initial application Adjuster the applicant MUST NOT have an active non-resident adjuster license on PDB (in any other state). Note:  Public Adjusters will be treated as Producers.

If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax. All other required documentation must be forwarded directly to the state.

State Offerings (Individual)

Please note that license class names can vary by state.

License Class

Line of Authority (LOA)

Passing Exam Required before Application

Public Insurance Adjuster

Property

Y

Adjuster

Property

Y

Adjuster

Casualty

Y

Adjuster

Surety

Y

Adjuster

Marine

Y

Adjuster

Crop 

Y

Adjuster

Workers Compensation

Y

Adjuster

Personal Lines

Y

Adjuster

Commercial Lines

Y

Adjuster

Auto Physical Damage

Y

Adjuster

Auto Liability

Y

License Fees (Individual)

Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

License Class

License Fee *

Reinstatement Fee

Adjuster

$80.00

$80.00

Public Insurance Adjuster

$80.00

$80.00

* Per application.   

Contacts

Last Update: 10/12/2018

SOUTH CAROLINA Non-Resident Licensing No Home State for Business Entities

APPLY HERE

State Announcements

There are no announcements for South Carolina at this time.

Primary Rules (Business Entity)

Response

Question

Yes

Accepts initial license for business entities electronically.

No

Accepts major lines of authority.

No

Accepts limited lines of authority.

No

Applicant can add lines of authority (amend) to an existing active license.

Yes

Applicant can reinstate through NIPR's No Home State License Application.

Yes

License printing available electronically.

Yes

Applicant must currently hold or be applying for life if they are applying for variable.

License Printing

To print your license, click the state on NIPR's Producer Licensing Map.

Business Rules (Business Entity)

Applicant must not have an active resident state license on PDB in any state.

Applicant must provide business address that is not in the state of South Carolina.

Applicant must provide a valid business address. Business address may not contain a P.O. Box.

Applicant with a license in "Inactive" status and no longer eligible for late renewal, applicant may reapply for their license at normal license fee.

Third Party Administrators are required to submit Financial Statement, Biographical Affidavit, Service Agreement and Surety Bond in the amount of $75,000 or more in order to obtain license in South Carolina. Email to  rjohnson@doi.sc.gov or fax to 803-737-6100.

Agencies applying for the Utilization Review license class are required to submit a utilization review program to South Carolina Department of Insurance. Please email rjohnson@doi.sc.gov or fax to 803-737-6100.

Agencies applying for the Service Contract Providers license must meet the financial obligations required by the state and provide any one of the following to the South Carolina Department of Insurance: A) Reimbursement insurance policy; B) Funded reserve account that must provide a minimum of 25,000 surety bond or a letter of credit; C) Audited financial statement on the applicant's parent company that must maintain a net worth of $100 million dollars or a 10k filing on the parent company's financial worth. Agencies applying for the Service Contract Provider license class are required to submit a copy of the service agreement and the latest financial statement to South Carolina Department of Insurance at: email rjohnson@doi.sc.gov or fax 803-737-6100.

Premium Finance Companies are required to file financial statements to South Carolina Department Of Insurance by March 1st of every odd year. Please email rjohnson@doi.sc.gov or fax to 803-737-6100.

If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax. All other required documentation must be forwarded directly to the state.

State Offerings (Business Entity)

License Class

Line of Authority (LOA)

DRLP Required

Utilization Review

None

No

Third Party Administrator

None

No

Premium Service Company

None

No

Service Contract Provider

None

No

License Fees (Business Entity)

Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

License Class

License Fee *

Utilization Review

$1200.00

Third Party Administrator

$100.00

Premium Service Company

$1000.00

Service Contract Provider

$200.00

* Per application.

Contacts

Last Update: 10/12/2018

APPLY HERE