RHODE ISLAND Non-Resident Adjuster License Renewal for Individuals

RENEW HERE

Primary Rules    |   Renewal Period   |   License Printing    |   Business Rules   |   State Offerings   |   Renewal Fees   |   Contacts & FAQs

State Announcements

There are no announcements for Rhode Island at this time.

Primary Rules

Response Question
Yes Accepts adjuster for individuals electronically.
No* Accepts adjuster for business entities electronically.
Yes Accepts Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) electronically.
No Accepts partial renewals.
Yes Print licenses electronically.

* Business entities will renew using Non-Resident Renewals (NRR) rather than Non-Resident Adjuster Renewals (NRAR).

Renewal Period

License Class Renewal Period Late Renewal Period Reinstatement Period
All License Classes Ninety (90) days prior to expiration date – Up to Expiration Date Thirty (30) days after expiration.
*30 day grace period for expired licenses. Allows renewal with no additional fee.
Thirty one (31) days to one year after license expired

License Printing

To print your license, click the state on NIPR's Producer Licensing Map.

Rhode Island Statute Update:

Prior to September 17, 2018, the Rhode Island Insurance Division issued three distinctly separate adjuster licenses: Company Adjuster license, Independent Adjuster license, and Public Adjuster license. Effective September 17, 2018 Rhode Island combined the activities of company and independent adjusters into one license. Rhode Island now issues two separate adjuster licenses: Company/Independent Adjuster license and Public Adjuster license.

All Company Adjuster and Independent Adjuster licenses that were in effect prior to September 17, 2018 have been automatically updated to reflect this change both in Rhode Island's local license manager, State Based Systems ("SBS") and on the national Producer Database ("PDB"); there is no action required by the licensee. Upon renewal the licensee will see that his/her license has been renamed to Company/Independent Adjuster. There is no further action required by an individual licensee.

Business Rules

Rhode Island issues a non-resident adjuster licenses to individuals for two (2) years.

Public and Company/Independent Adjuster licenses cannot be held simultaneously.

Renewal applicants who currently have Rhode Island as a home state (adjuster DHS) must renew through the Non-Resident Renewal (No Home State) application.

Renewal adjuster DHS applicants must select his/her DHS and may not select Rhode Island as a home state (adjuster DHS) at the time of renewal. If a licensee wants to amend his/her license to select RI as a DHS, s/he must take (and pass) the applicable exam, obtain a certified criminal background check from his/her resident state and contact the Rhode Island Insurance Division at dbr.inslic@dbr.ri.gov to make the change prior to renewal.

Emergency adjuster licenses are not renewable and expire after 120 days. If after expiration an insurer determines there is a need for an extension, such extension must be directly attributable to the emergency for which the adjuster was initially utilized and the adjuster can reapply for a new emergency adjuster license the day after the expiration date using the Non-Resident Adjuster License application.

Rhode Island requires all applicants to provide a valid business email address. While it is the licensee's responsibility to renew his/her license, as a courtesy, Rhode Island sends electronic license renewal reminders to the business e-mail address associated with a license.

Because the electronic application is 100% user driven, the Rhode Island Insurance Division will not honor a refund request if you submit more than one renewal application.

If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, e-mail, or fax.

See NIPR's Non-Resident Adjuster Licensing (NRAL) Application for Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) rules.


Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) Requirements

  • At least one non-resident active adjuster license must exist on NIPR's Producer Database (PDB). If applicant's resident state or ADHS is inactive, the applicant must designate new home state.
  • The ADHS selected MUST have an active non-resident adjuster license on the PDB.
  • In order for an applicant to designate a home state during the renewal application, the applicant must have an active non-resident adjuster license on the PDB and no active resident adjuster license.
  • Applicants that have an active resident producer (non-adjuster) license and no active resident adjuster may not renew an adjuster (non-public adjuster) license using the resident producer (non-adjuster) license.
  • If designated home state license is inactive at the time of renewal and no active resident adjuster license exists, applicant may select another state with an active adjuster license as the designated home state.
  • If applicant holds only a non-adjuster resident license in a state that licenses resident adjusters, applicant is permitted to designate an active non-resident adjuster license as their home state license. If applicant holds a non-adjuster resident license in a state that does not license resident adjusters, applicant is allowed to designate a home state.
  • If applicant has an active non-resident adjuster license in a state that does not license adjusters, and no active non-resident adjuster license, applicant must use current active resident license to renew non-resident adjuster license.
  • If applicant has an active non-adjuster resident license in a state that does not license adjusters, and no active non-resident adjuster license, applicant must use current active resident license to renew non-resident adjuster license.
  • Applicants may not select Rhode Island as Adjuster Designated Home State when renewing their Non-Resident Rhode Island license.
  • Public Adjusters may not select an Adjuster Designated Home State.

State Offerings

Please note that license class names can vary by state.

License Class Line of Authority (LOA)
Company/Independent Adjuster Workers' Compensation
Company/Independent Adjuster Property & Casualty
Company/Independent Adjuster Crop
Public Adjuster NONE

Renewal Fees

Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

License Class / LOA Combination License Renewal Fee *
(Up to 30 days after license expiration)
License Late Renewal Fee
(31 days to One Year after license expiration)
Public Adjuster/None $250.00 $300.00 ($250 license fee + $50 reinstatement fee)
Company/Independent Adjuster /All LOA's $250.00 $300.00 ($250 license fee + $50 reinstatement fee)
Company/Independent Adjuster  Line of Authority Amendment Fee $50.00 N/A

* Per application.

Contacts

Last Update: 10/12/2018

RENEW HERE