Business Rules (Individual)
All phone and fax numbers may not begin with zero.
Applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years old or older as determined from the applicant's date of birth.
Non-citizens of the U.S. must have a resident license for selling insurance in one of the fifty (50) U.S. states, and valid U.S. resident and business mailing addresses.
Florida will not allow resident and or business address fields to contain a P.O. Box address.
Florida does not issue or recognize 1033 consent waivers.
Variable contracts applicant must also hold current life license in resident state.
If applicant has combined personal lines and property & casualty they must choose personal lines or general lines - all.
Applicant applying for surplus lines line of authority (LOA) (PIN code 61) must have the following:
- An active agent license (PIN code 1) with general lines – all LOA (PIN code 43) at time of application,
- An active 0920 non-resident general lines - property and casualty (PIN code 1618) appointment on producer Database (PDB) at time of application.
If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.
Applicants who wish to check the status of Non-Resident License (NRL) Applications or check continued education compliance may do so using Florida’s state website.
All applicants must be fingerprinted through Florida's vendor, MorphoTrust USA, formerly L-1 Enrollment. Register or request fingerprint cards be mailed, and pay for fingerprinting by visiting Florida's state website or by calling 1-800-528-1358. If fingerprints have been submitted to Florida within the last 12 months, applicant does not need to submit fingerprints. If applicant currently holds a valid Florida insurance license and submitted fingerprints within the last 48 months, additional fingerprints do not need to be submitted.
Pending misdemeanor crimes or misdemeanors within the previous twelve (12) months are not excluded and must be reported on the application for licensure.
Persons who have committed certain felonies are permanently barred from applying for licensure. Other felonies and certain misdemeanors require the applicant to wait for a disqualifying period to lapse prior to applying for licensure. The permanent bar and the disqualifying periods apply regardless of whether adjudication was withheld or an applicant's civil rights have been restored. Please visit Florida's state website for more detailed information to review prior to applying for licensure.