VERMONT Non-Resident Adjuster Licensing for Individuals

APPLY HERE

Primary Rules    |   License Printing    |   Business Rules   |   State Offerings   |   License Fees   |   Contacts and FAQs

State Announcements

Posted: 01/22/13

The Department has received a number of inquiries from insurers asking if Vermont law provides an exception to the adjuster licensing requirement if the individual adjusting is a staff adjuster of the insurer. The answer is no, there is no exception for the adjuster licensing requirement, unless the insurer is a Vermont domestic fire or casualty company. See Title 8 V.S.A. § 4791(3). Insurers should review their licensing protocols to ensure their adjusters handling Vermont claims are properly licensed. For information on how to obtain a license, please visit the Vermont website.

Primary Rules

Response Question
Yes Accepts adjuster for individuals electronically.
No* Accepts adjuster for business entities electronically.
Yes Accepts Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) electronically.
Yes Applicant can reinstate a license electronically.
No Applicant can add lines of authority to an existing active license electronically.
Yes Print licenses electronically.

License Printing

To print your license, click the state on NIPR's Producer Licensing Map.

Business Rules

Applicant must be eighteen (18) years old or older as determined from the applicant’s date of birth.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Vermont producer licenses expire on a common expiration date of March 31 of odd years. If you apply for a license now, you will pay the initial license and application fee for a license that expires on March 31, of the next odd year. You will also receive an invoice for the license renewal fee prior to the expiration date of that license. All applications received at the Insurance Department after March 1st, of the odd year will not be issued effective until April 1st, of the same odd year, unless a specific request is made.

State Offerings

Please note that license class names can vary by state.

License Class Line of Authority (LOA)
Non-Resident Adjuster Crop
Non-Resident Public Adjuster Property & Casualty
Non-Resident Workers' Compensation Adjuster Workers' Compensation
Non-Resident Property / Casualty Adjuster Property & Casualty

* Applications for Other lines of authority will defer to state for approval.

License Fees

Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

License Class / LOA Combination Fee *
Adjuster / All LOA's See Retaliatory Fees for Adjuster
Public Adjuster / Property & Casualty See Retaliatory Fees for Public Adjuster

* Per application.

Retaliatory Fees

State Adjuster Fee * Public Adjuster Fee * Notes
One time application fee $30.00 $30.00 Application fee is charged per class in addition to retaliatory fee identified below
Alabama $80.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Alaska $75.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Arizona $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Arkansas $120.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
California $283.00 $240.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Colorado $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Connecticut $130.00 $300.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Delaware $75.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
District of Columbia $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Florida $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Georgia $100.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Guam $100.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Hawaii $210.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Idaho $80.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Illinois $60.00 $250.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Indiana $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Iowa $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Kansas $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Kentucky $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Louisiana $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Maine $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Maryland $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Massachusetts $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Michigan $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Minnesota $160.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Mississippi $100.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Missouri $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Montana $100.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Nebraska $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Nevada $123.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
New Hampshire $75.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
New Jersey $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
New Mexico $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
New York $100.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
North Carolina $250.00 $250.00 Per transaction not per LOA
North Dakota $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Ohio $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Oklahoma $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Ontario $60.00 $200.00 *This is a fee for any applicant from any providence of Canada.
Oregon $75.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Pennsylvania $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Rhode Island $150.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
South Carolina $80.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
South Dakota $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Tennessee $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Texas $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Utah $75.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Vermont $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Virginia $60.00 $250.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Washington $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
West Virginia $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Wisconsin $60.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA
Wyoming $100.00 $200.00 Per transaction not per LOA

* Per application.

Contacts

Last Update: 7/10/2017

APPLY HERE