SOUTH CAROLINA Non-Resident License Renewal for Individuals

RENEW HERE

State Announcements

South Carolina Individual Limited Lines and Producer Renewals have changed. Applicants now renew 90 days prior to expiration date through the NIPR electronic application. Applicants can renew during their normal renewal period on the South Carolina Department of Insurance Website.

Primary Rules (Individual)

Response Question
Yes Accepts renewals for individuals electronically.
Yes Accepts renewals for major lines of authority.
Yes Accepts renewals for limited lines of authority.
Yes Accepts renewals for surplus lines for individuals.
Yes Applicant can late renew through NIPR's Non-Resident Renewal (NRR) Application.
No Partial renewals allowed.
Yes License printing available electronically.

License Printing

To print your license, click the state on NIPR's Producer Licensing Map.

Renewal Period (Individual)

License Class Renewal Period Begins Renewal Period Ends Late Renewal Begins Late Renewal Ends
Producer 90 Days prior to expiration date Last day of the birth month Day after Expiration Date 180 days after Expiration Date
Limited Lines Producer 90 Days prior to expiration date Last day of the birth month Day after Expiration Date 180 days after Expiration Date
Appraiser Biennially October 1st base on odd years. Biennially October 31st base on odd years. Day after Expiration Date 180 days after Expiration Date
Surplus Lines Broker Biennially May 1st based on even years. Biennially May 31st based on even years. Day after Expiration Date 180 days after Expiration Date

Business Rules (Individual)

Applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years old or older as determined from the applicant's date of birth.

No more than 6 digits allowed for business phone number extensions.

Applicant's addresses must match current PDB record for resident state.

Applicant must not have an active resident license in South Carolina.

Applicant's Resident License must be on record.

If applicant holds a Limited Lines license with only a Travel Baggage LOA they are exempt from renewing. If they hold any other line for their limited Lines license (active only) they are required to renew.

Applicants holding an inactive license with status reason: Denied, Revoked, or Suspended must late renew through the South Carolina Department of Insurance. Applicants holding an inactive license with status reason of anything other than those listed can reapply through Resident License (RL) Application or the South Carolina Department of Insurance.

Renewal Window begins 90 days prior to expiration date for the Producer and Limited Lines license classes.

Late renewal begins after last day of expiration for the next 180 days for all license classes. After 180 days, applicant may apply as new through NRL or late renew through South Carolina DOI with additional penalty fees.

Applicants for the variable line of authority (LOA) must supply FINRA CRD number on application.

Partial Renewals are not allowed. Applicant must renew all active LOAs (that are offered electronically) on the license.

If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.

Please check Announcements for any last minute notifications about the states to which you are applying.

State Offerings (Individual)

Please note that license class names can vary by state.

License Class Line of Authority (LOA)
Producer Life
Producer Accident & Health
Producer Property
Producer Casualty
Producer Variable Contracts
Producer Personal Lines
Limited Lines Surety
Limited Lines Travel Baggage
Limited Lines Credit
Limited Lines Crop Hail
Appraiser Auto Physical Damage
Surplus Lines Broker Property
Surplus Lines Broker Casualty
Limited Lines Pre-Need Insurance
Limited Lines Title

Renewal Fees (Individual)

Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

License Class / LOA Combination Renewal Fee * Late Renewal *
Producer / All LOAs $25.00 $50.00 (1-30 days after expiration)
$100.00 (31-60 days after expiration)
$250.00 (61-180 days after expiration)
Limited Lines / All LOAs $25.00 $50.00 (1-30 days after expiration)
$100.00 (31-60 days after expiration)
$250.00 (61-180 days after expiration)
Appraiser / Auto Physical Damage $80.00 $160.00 (1-180 days after expiration)
Surplus Lines Broker / All LOAs $200.00 $400.00 (1-180 days after expiration)

* Per application.

Contacts

Last Update: 5/30/2017

SOUTH CAROLINA Non-Resident License Renewal for Business Entities

RENEW HERE

State Announcements

There are no announcements for South Carolina at this time.

Primary Rules (Business Entity)

Response Question
Yes Accepts renewals for business entities electronically.
Yes Accepts renewals for major lines of authority.
No Accepts renewals for limited lines of authority.
No Accepts renewals for surplus lines for business entities.
Yes Applicant can late renew through NIPR's Non-Resident Renewal (NRR) Application.
No Partial renewals allowed.
Yes License printing available electronically.

License Printing

To print your license, click the state on NIPR's Profducer Licensing Map.

Renewal Period (Business Entity)

License Class Renewal Period Begins Renewal Period Ends Late Renewal Begins Late Renewal Ends
Producer Agency Biennially January 1st based on even years. Biennially January 31st based on even years. Biennially February 1st based on even years. Biennially one hundred eighty (180) days after February 1st based on even years.
Motor Vehicle Rental Companies Biennially December 1st based on even years Biennially December 31st based on even years Biennially January 1st based on even years. Biennially one hundred eighty (180) days after January 1st based on even years.
Portable Electronics Biennially July 1st based on odd years Biennially July 31st based on odd years Biennially August 1st based on odd years. Biennially one hundred eighty (180) days after January 1st based on odd years.
Self -Service Storage Facilities Biennially April 1st based on odd years Biennially April 30th based on odd years Biennially May 1st based on odd years. Biennially one hundred eighty (180) days after January 1st based on odd years.
Third Party Administrator Annually February 1st Annually March 1st N/A N/A
Premium Service Company Biennially February 1st based on even years Biennially March 1st based on even years N/A N/A
Service Contract Provider Annually September 1st Annually October 1st N/A N/A
Utilization Review Biennially June 1st based on even years Biennially July 1st based on even years N/A N/A

Business Rules (Business Entity)

Applicant's Resident License must be on record.

No more than 6 digits allowed for business phone number extensions.

At least one (1) Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP) must be provided on the application and must have an active resident or non-resident license in South Carolina. The DRLP can be a licensed Producer, Surplus Lines Broker, or Limited Lines individual.

The following classes are not required to have a Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP): Service Contract Provider, Third Party Administrator, Premium Service Company, Utilization Review, Motor Vehicle Rental Companies, Portable Electronics, and Self-Service Storage Facilities.

Late renewal begins after last day of expiration for the next 180 days for all license classes. Exception: the following classes do not late renew and must re-apply through Resident Licensing (RL) after expiration: Service Contract Provider, Utilization Review, Third Party Administrator, Premium Service Company.

Applicants holding an inactive license with status reason: Denied, Revoked, or Suspended must late renew through the South Carolina Department of Insurance. Applicants holding an inactive license with status reason of anything other than those listed can reapply through Resident License (RL) Application or the South Carolina Department of Insurance.

If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.

Please check Announcements for any last minute notifications about the states to which you are applying.

State Offerings (Business Entity)

License Class Line of Authority (LOA) DRLP Required
Producer Agency None Yes
Motor Vehicle Rental Companies None No
Portable Electronics None No
Self -Service Storage Facilities None No
Third Party Administrator None No
Premium Service Company None No
Service Contract Provider None No
Utilization Review None No

Renewal Fees (Business Entity)

Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

License Class / LOA Combination Renewal Fee * Total Reinstatement Fee *
Producer Agency / None $40.00 $290.00 (1 – 180 days after expiration date)
Motor Vehicle Rental Companies / None $40.00 $290.00 (1 – 180 days after expiration date)
Portable Electronics / None $500.00 $1,000.00 (1 – 180 days after expiration date)
Self -Service Storage Facilities / None $40.00 $80.00 (1 – 180 days after expiration date)
Third Party Administrator / None $100.00 N/A
Premium Service Company / None $1,000.00 N/A
Service Contract Provider / None $200.00 N/A
Utilization Review / None $800.00 N/A

* Per application..

Contacts

Last Update: 5/30/2017

RENEW HERE