Applicant must pass the required state exam for the selected lines for new license or amended license.
Applicant is exempt from license exam if the Inactive status of previous resident license is within 90 days from date of the Rhode Island RL application or if the resident RI license and requested LOA they are applying for is inactive within the past year.
Claims Adjuster license is being transitioned to specific license types: Company Adjuster, Independent Adjuster, and Public Adjuster.
Claims Adjuster applicants (active or inactive) must reinstate through Resident Licensing (RL) to obtain one of the new license classes upon renewal.
The following applicants must provide a certified background (BCI) check from the Attorney General's office: Company Adjuster, Public Adjuster, Independent Adjuster, Insurance Producers, Title, Motor Vehicle Damage Appraiser, Surplus Line Broker.
If applicant holds an active Claims Adjuster license on PDB, an exam is not required to apply for one of the new Public, Independent and Company Adjuster license classes.
Public, Independent, and Company Adjuster licenses cannot be held simultaneously.
Emergency Adjusters are not a renewable license class. The day after expiration date, applicant is eligible to apply for a new license via RL.
Emergency Adjuster license cannot be held simultaneously with Public, Independent, or Company Adjuster licenses in Rhode Island.
Applicants that currently hold a Public Adjuster license cannot apply for or hold an Emergency Adjuster license in Rhode Island.
Surplus Line Broker applicants must hold a Property & Casualty Insurance Producer license. They must also obtain a bond in the amount of $25,000 and email bond certificate to the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation.
Applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years old or older as determined from the applicant's date of birth.
Non-citizens of the U.S. must e-mail proof of eligibility to work in the U.S to the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation.
Electronic applications will only be issued for a two (2) year license term.
Applicants must not have an active non-resident license in Rhode Island.
Applicant must provide a valid business email address.
Rhode Island will allow reinstatements of a license if:
- Status is not active with an expired status reason.
- Expiration date is greater than thirty (30) days and less than three hundred and sixty-five (365) days.
- Reinstatement must be processed through Resident License Renewal (RLR) Application.
Applicants for the variable line of authority (LOA) must supply FINRA CRD number on application.
Applicants for motor vehicle damage appraiser licensing must take and pass the Rhode Island Appraiser exam. Visit the state website for information regarding PearsonVue testing services.
Applicants that apply for reinsurance intermediary broker and reinsurance intermediary manager must select both single lines of casualty and property, or both single lines of life and accident and health or sickness.
All resident insurance producers that are selling, soliciting or negotiating insurance are required to carry and maintain E&O insurance, pursuant to Rhode Island Gen Laws § 27-2.4-23.
Rhode Island only allows amendments to a license if license is active and not expired.
If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse
. The documents may also be submitted to the state
via mail, email, or fax.