COLORADO Non-Resident Licensing for Individuals

APPLY HERE

State Announcements

There are no announcements for Colorado at this time.

Primary Rules (Individual)

Response Question
Yes Accepts initial license for individuals electronically.
Yes Accepts major lines of authority.
Yes Accepts limited lines of authority.
Yes Accepts surplus lines for individuals.
Yes Applicant can add lines of authority (amend) to an existing active license.
Yes Applicant can reinstate/reapply through NIPR's Non-Resident License Application.
Yes License printing available electronically.

License Printing

To print your license, click the state on NIPR's Producer Licensing Map.

Business Rules (Individual)

Applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years old as determined from the applicant's date of birth.

Applicant's name, SSN/FEIN, license number, addresses, birth date, and state of residence must match current Producer Database (PDB) record for resident state.

Applicant must have a valid country code and business email.

Applicant mailing address must be either his or her residence address or a personal P.O. Box.

Applicant may not apply for a license in their own resident state.

Applicant may not use a P.O. Box in the business or residence addresses.

Title applicant, including attorney title and title agency, must complete the Affiliated Business Arrangement Disclosure Form immediately after initial licensure or renewal of a title license. Failure to submit the form is cause for license suspension, revocation, and or a fine.

Attorney Title and Title cannot be applied for in the same transaction.

With the exception of the Attorney Title, Health Maintenance, Nonprofits, Surplus Lines and Title lines of authority (LOAs), applicant must have an equivalent active resident license when applying for a non-resident license.

Applicants for the variable line of authority (LOA) must supply a FINRA Central Registry Depository (CRD) number on the application.  If you need to verify your CRD number you may use the Broker Search feature found on FINRA's website.

If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.

State Offerings (Individual)

Please note that license class names can vary by state.

License Class Line of Authority (LOA)
Producer Life
Producer Accident and Health
Producer Property
Producer Casualty
Producer Personal Lines
Producer Variable Life and Variable Annuity
Producer Credit
Producer Crop Hail
Producer Travel Insurance
Producer Attorney Title
Producer Health Maintenance
Producer Nonprofits
Producer Surplus Lines
Producer Title

License Fees (Individual)

Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

License Class / LOA Combination Fee * Amendment Fee *
Producer / All LOAs $89.00 $89.00
Producer / Surplus Lines $373.00 $373.00

* Per Line of Authority.

Contacts

Last Update: 12/13/2016

COLORADO Non-Resident Licensing for Business Entity

APPLY HERE

State Announcements

There are no announcements for Colorado at this time.

Primary Rules (Business Entity)

Response Question
Yes Accepts initial license for business entities electronically.
Yes Accepts major lines of authority.
Yes Accepts limited lines of authority.
Yes Accepts surplus lines for business entities.
Yes Applicant can add lines of authority (amend) to an existing active license.
Yes Applicant can reinstate/reapply through NIPR's Non-Resident License  Application.
Yes License printing available electronically.

License Printing

To print your license, click the state on NIPR's Producer Licensing Map.

Business Rules (Business Entity)

Applicant's name, SSN/FEIN, license number, addresses, and state of residence must match current Producer Database (PDB) record for resident state.

Applicant must have a valid country code and business email.

Applicant may not apply for a license in their own resident state.

Applicant may not use a P.O. Box in the business or residence addresses.

Title applicant, including attorney title and title agency, must complete the Affiliated Business Arrangement Disclosure Form immediately after initial licensure or renewal of a Title license. The form can be found on Colorado's state website. Failure to submit the form is cause for license suspension, revocation, and or a fine.

At least one (1) Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP) must have an active resident or non-resident license in Colorado.

The Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP must be an officer, owner, partner or director.

All officers, partners and directors must be listed on the application whether or not they are licensed producers. 

Business entity applicants who provide a trade name (Question six (6)) must register the trade name with Colorado Department of Insurance.

Non-resident public adjuster / public adjuster must submit a surety bond in the amount of $20,000.00. The original bond must be mailed to or delivered to the state.

If applicant responds "yes" to one of the background questions please submit supporting documents electronically via NIPR's Attachments Warehouse. The documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.

State Offerings (Business Entity)

License Class Line of Authority (LOA) DRLP Required
Producer Life Yes
Producer Accident and Health Yes
Producer Property Yes
Producer Casualty Yes
Producer Personal Lines Yes
Producer Variable Life and Variable Annuity Yes
Producer Credit Yes
Producer Crop Hail Yes
Producer Travel Insurance Yes
Producer Health Maintenance Yes
Producer Nonprofit Yes
Producer Surplus Lines Yes
Producer Title Yes
Producer Portable Electronics Vendor Yes
Non-Resident Public Adjuster Public Adjuster Yes

License Fees (Business Entity)

Fees shown are state fees only. These fees do not include NIPR transaction fees.

License Class / LOA Combination Fee * Amendment Fee *
Producer / All LOA's $89.00 $89.00
Producer / Surplus Lines $373.00 $373.00
Non-Resident Public Adjuster / Public Adjuster $89.00 $89.00

* Per Line of Authority.

Amendments and Reinstatement fees will be the same fee as an initial license fee per LOA.

Contacts

Last Update: 12/13/2016

APPLY HERE